FIFA World Cup 2022 draw: date, time, location, format, how to watch

Photo: MARCA

The draw for the 2022 World Cup will take place on Tuesday April 1 at the Doha Exhibition and Convention Centre. Here you will know when, where and how to watch this event here.

The 2022 World Cup will be held this year in Qatar from November 21 to December 18 in eight stadiums across five cities. It will be a truly unique competition as FIFA is hosting its flagship event in the Middle East for the first time.

There will be 29 teams guaranteed a place in the tournament before the draw, and three more will be determined in the play-offs after the draw. Qatar have automatically qualified and will be joined by 13 European teams.

The Fifa Authority said: “While the world continues to struggle with the ravages caused by the pandemic, FIFA has noted, not without optimism, certain signs across the world that point to a gradual improvement in the situation. Like our hosts in Qatar, we are confident that by then it will be possible to hold the Congress in person.

When is the 2022 World Cup draw?

  • Date: The draw will take place on Tuesday, April 1
  • Time: Event will start at 10 a.m. ET
  • Venue: The event will take place at the Doha Exhibition and Convention Centre.

2000 special guests were invited to participate in the event.

How to watch the 2022 World Cup draw online?

Telemundo and the BBC will broadcast the 2022 World Cup draw live on their television channel. You will need cable TV connections for both channels. Telemundo will broadcast the event in the US, where the BBC has the rights to broadcast the event in the UK. Subscribe to channels now to watch this event.


The 2022 World Cup will be the last edition using the 32-team format. The championship is expected to expand to 48 countries in 2016. But that won’t happen this year. Here is the print format:

  • Based on the FIFA rankings, the competing teams will be divided into four pots
  • The first seven countries and the hosts of Qatar in the first pot.
  • They will be divided into eight groups of four teams.
  • Except for Europe, which can have two teams
  • Each group can only contain one team from the same confederation.
  • The top two teams from each group qualify for the 16 finals.


The FIFA World Cup is the biggest event in football. The World Cup party begins with the draw. Fans get a chance to get to know their favorite team’s rival through this event. So if you are a football fan, don’t miss the event.

Read also :


Comments are closed.